A Coffee Date

I’ve seen this “virtual coffee date” on a few other blogs lately. I like the idea, because I can’t have coffee with a lot of my friends and family back home, but I would love to. So, I’m inviting you to have a cup of coffee with me via the internet.

If we were having coffee today, I would mention the abrupt arrival of cold weather in Paris. It’s been in the low 40s and even high 30s at night. I’d probably complain about my careless abandonment of my favorite scarf in New York before I moved here, and I’d probably mention that I’m about to order a new cozy scarf, I am just having trouble choosing the “perfect” one. We would then discuss scarves for at least 5 more minutes. 

If we were having coffee today, and I haven’t seen you in a while, I would probably tell you that French is like, really hard. I can order at a restaurant, say “no thanks, I don’t need a bag” at the grocery store, and ask the man who works in the wine shop if the wine is too sweet or not. That’s about as far as my vocal communication goes at this point. Necessities… The good news is I learn a little more each day, I guess.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you that I wish I could go home and see my family during the holidays this year. As I get older I’m lucky if I make it for Thanksgiving or Christmas, but this year I won’t make it to either. I miss my dog, my mom, and my grandmothers. The rest of the family too, of course. It’s easy for me to get emotional around the holidays. I will try my best to keep it together, making new traditions and memories with Leo and his family here in France. 🙂

I suppose at this point I would have to offer you another cup of coffee. I’d also offer you a piece of this toast that I topped with ricotta and clementine… It’s probably the most refreshing toast ever.

Half way into our eleventh cup of coffee, I would ask you: what are your plans for the holidays this year? What are you most looking forward to creating and sharing? What’s your favorite thing to eat this time of year? I’m excited to make a beautiful pie and share it, even if it’s just with one person.

Thanks for having coffee with me! 

Leave a Reply

